The Australian government’s National Disability Scheme (NDIS) has been rolled out nationally since 2016 with the intention of managing the disability services market in the country.


No matter what the ailment of the individual is, from sensory and psychological concerns to intellectual and physical impairments that hamper day-to-day functioning and development, the target is to give individuals the best possible care without suffering the extra burden of managing enormous financial costs through the open market.


With the NDIS being a hot button topic in the national psyche to talk about for friends, colleagues and family members of the disabled community, it is worthwhile examining the matter of eligibility.


Having the facts of the scheme presented is the greatest means of gauging an individual against the listed criteria.



The NDIS can be split between two major categories that are based on the age. The first centres around Early Childhood Early Intervention for youngsters under the age of 6. Beyond this point, individuals that meet the criteria have to be under the age of 65 for the standard NDIS requirements. Those citizens who are above the age of 65 are recommended to apply for the Commonwealth aged care system.



To be a recipient of the NDIS, there must be proof of one of a number of benchmarks that fit into the category of residency. Should you happen to not be an Australian citizen, then that party must be in possession of a Protected Special Category Visa or a Permanent Visa. Those who do not have Australian citizenship must run through the visa process to be approved as a matter of residency.

Type of Disability


The NDIS is not a one-size-fits-all process where individuals are given the same degree of care regardless of their impairment. This will be determined by the activities that require assistance and whether or not there is any need to equipment or technology to fit into the equation. Should the ailment be permanent or will be affecting economic and social participation, then a different category of the scheme will be engaged.

Requirements for Early Intervention


Under the NDIS, individuals might be qualified for early intervention requirements if an impairment is proved to need assistance into the future. Those who are suffering from a permanent condition fit into this category as the process is fast tracked. In this instance, the carers and family members are focused upon to ensure that they can maintain their supportive role and to reduce the chances of deterioration as best as possible. Such cases are funded through the NDIS, a scenario that is also prevalent for children under the age of 6 who experience developmental issues.

State Variations


Having illustrated the unique qualities that forms the NDIS, no one state is entirely the same when it comes down to availability for the scheme. Each state and territory in Australia will have their own applications and intricacies to the program. Time will tell if the rules and interpretations will be equally applicable from one state to the next, yet that will be a matter for the government to enforce.


Consider which state or territory you are applying for and examine their conditions of entry:


  • Australian Capital Territory
  • New South Wales
  • Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia



The government’s real target with the NDIS is to expand access for individuals who require ongoing assistance and care and in doing so, the market will drive competition. This should in turn help create more organisations and businesses who will run aid programs and endeavours to build on the work that has already been carried out through the NDIS into the future.